I am kinda proud of the fact that I have been up since 5AM YESTERDAY morning. Why? I had asked one of my farmers to set aside at least 5 dozen ears of sweet corn for me. I asked him early since I know its pretty sparse thanks to the lack of rain this year. Well he called yesterday and had 6 dozen picked and ready for me!
Now I dont do things half ass. I want to do the best that I can even when it comes to little things. Of course I HAVE TO can my corn the same day its picked. I also had a lesson last night, needed to run some errands and go to the store. So at 9PM last night I began husking 6 dozen ears of sweet corn. The dogs and my cat all kept me company. They were cracking me up! The cat just plopped right down in the middle of all the bags. The dogs kept sitting by the trash can begging me to give them a bad ear so they could take it in the yard, tear all the husk off, and eat the corn right off the cob like a person. Remmy gave Axel his first lesson how to do this last night and he caught on very quickly. I was not prepared to jump in to this endeavor last night. I got it all husked and blanched. Then ran a trial run through my canner. It was brand new and I didnt want to blow a hole in the ceiling or anything! I began the messy job of cutting the kernels off the ear. I hand sterilized my jars since I dont have a dishwasher. I realized I had no drinking water. There was no way I was putting hard water into my vegetables. I made a late night run to the gas station for water. I had a blonde moment. I got 12 pint jars ready. My canner hold 8. I had to run two cycles. At 5:30 this morning my roomate comes in the front door as Im standing in the kitchen, oversized t-shirt and underwear, glasses and messy hair surely looking pretty worn. She thought I was crazy up early canning. Then she realized I hadn't been to bed. Im sure she still thinks I'm crazy! Here's the deal. If I put my mind to something I'm going to do it! I froze a bit less than 2 dozed and the rest was canned. Next batch I will be doing on a weekend and starting late morning. Pickles are going to be on Sunday.
| Some results of my all nighter |
Maybe I am stuck up to take pride in the way I have chosen to live my life. I have a bad habit of looking down on those who still milk mommy and daddy. It drives me nuts to see all the undeserved handouts this country offers. I feel some truly need it. Why isnt there at least drug testing to qualify? Nothing on this earth bothers me more than laziness! There is always something to do. Go to work, come home, and stay off your ass! Poor babies had to work 8 hours and are too tired to do anything when they get home. There is grass to be mowed, floors to be swept and mopped, dusting, laundry, cooking, dishes, trash out, repairs, etc. Why sit in front of the TV when you could be productive? Excercise, soak up some vitamin D, get involved in the community, help those in need,get involved in church, try a new hobby, take pride in where you live and keep it nice.
I think that's what is wrong with my generation. People do not understand to work for what they have. Your job is not a priority, your social life is. Society is materialistic, disrespectful, unmotivated. The media makes sex, drugs, partying, and so on ridiculously appealing. It drives our society to make it a priority. It brainwashed our youth. I was there once, I know first hand. Where are our morals? What happened to doing good? Where is the want for a family life? Why is there not a stronger work ethic? I'm not putting everyone in this category. There are wonderful people all around. I just get so frustrated, especially with my generation. This society lacks honesty. It lacks intergrity. It lacks morals and virtues period! I am proud to be different. Proud to not be on the bandwagon. I am by no means perfect. I make mistakes. I sin. I have down times and moments. I can and will always have opportunity to better myself. This is not a self righteous post by any means.
To tie up my rant I need to credit some people. My parents. Without the upbringing I had, I would not be where I am. I would not be who I am. I cannot be more thankful to have been raised with the morals instilled in me. All those times I got so mad at mom and dad is so worth it now. I am so lucky they put up with me. Not only that, but my parents strived to do everything they could to make my dreams come true. They gave me the world, placed it in my hands and pushed me forward. I was spoiled. I had a lot of nice things. I lived a comfortable lifestyle. I was taught to work hard for it and appreciate it. I was pushed to talk to people. To voice my appreciation for opportunities. I was taught to prioritize and be responsible. As I am older, I am so glad to have such a good woman for a mother. Due to her, I have a want to be a good woman. I like to cook, I want my home clean,I want to best serve whoever my husband will be the best that I can, and I want to have a family and be a good mother. She also taught me how to be classy. I am a little country girl, but I have class. Mom made sure I knew how to properly apply make-up. She made sure I had quality make-up products and hair product. She allowed me to dress nice. (Dad monitored that and kept it conservative most of the time!)She nagged me to take pride in the way that I carried myself. I am very much a daddy's girl. I find now that the qualities I look for in a guy are the same qualities dad wanted that I got mad about. He was picky and it frustrated me. Now I sound like a broken record of him. I am not going to end up with some loser thanks to him. Dad made me a business woman. He made me a talker and a social bug. I understand how important it is to make contacts. He taught me honest and professional business. He taught me hard work and drive. Neither of my parents let me give up. I got spanked and disciplined. I got things taken away and grounded. I didnt do whatever I wanted. If I continued on what they have done for me I might as well write a biography. I love my parents. I look up to them. I hope to obtain many of the qualities they possess. I admire my parents. I admire their reputation. I admire what they have done for my siblings and I. I admire what they have made of themselves and the obstacles they have overcome. I couldn't ask for a better example!
Random thought: My tomatos have blossom end rot! :( This makes me so sad. It is caused by a lack of calcium in the soil. It is worsened by drought and inconsistent moisture. Would you look at the year. They are looking great and full with lots of fruit too! Im so saddened by this!